Training

Advocate Training

Prior to starting training, all potential volunteers must submit a written application, attend a personal interview, provide three references, and complete a criminal background check. Training sessions are offered 4 to 5 times a year and include 24 hours of in-class training completed in 8 three-hour sessions, plus an additional 6 hours of independent study and homework. Saturday classes comprise a morning and afternoon session.
 
Training topics include: The Law, The Child Protection System and the Courts; Children and Family Systems; The Impact of Child Abuse and Neglect; Exploring Our Cultural Sensitivity; Educational Advocacy; Healthcare Advocacy; Communication and Interviewing Skills; Information Gathering and Report Writing. Following the completion of training, volunteers are sworn in by a Family Court judge.

Volunteers must attend ALL sessions of a training class to complete the course and be sworn in as a Court Appointed Special Advocate.

Upcoming Training Sessions

July 2017
Weekday Session


Monday July 24
9:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Tuesday July 25
9:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Wednesday July 26
9:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Thursday July 27
9:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Friday July 28
9:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Saturday July 29
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Swearing In - Date TBD

September 2017
Evening Session

Wednesday Sept 13
5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Saturday Sept 16
9:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Monday Sept 18
5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Wednesday Sept 20 
5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Saturday Sept 23
9:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Monday Sept 25
5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Wednesday Sept 27
5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

Monday October 2
5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Share by: